The Common Concern Chronicles: Ep. 1.

I often hear my peers complain about their lack of privacy on the Internet, which I frequently argue is a product of their own doing. People fear the fact that marketers track and target individuals through invasive online tactics, without realizing how much information they practically feed such marketers on a golden platter. I ask you to sit back and take your Internet usage into perspective. How much personal information can be found through merely searching your name on Google or Facebook? I guarantee if you spent 3 minutes searching my name on the Internet you would find where I live, what I look like, who I hang out with, what I’m interested in, where I go to school, and you could even find out I love using my GoPro Hero 4 for all my outdoor adventures. So please tell me how so many people are more than comfortable posting a live Instagram of their trendy brunch accompanied by a geotag that provides the world your exact geographical coordinates but run in fear when a website notifies them they use cookies.

 

If you’re a person who is truly concerned about marketers invading your privacy but still have public social media accounts, I fear you’re a person of interest in the grand scheme of targeting. Most people, especially millennials have begun showcasing their lives through the internet and social media making targeting such people on account of their personal and consumer behavior much easier. As someone who works in this industry, I must admit to understanding that huge media and marketing agencies have advanced technologies to track consumers and utilize the best targeting practices. Personally, I find this fascinating yet exceptionally creepy at the same time. But, typical people who are often concerned with this don’t realize they’re often enabling these practices. So the next time someone expresses privacy concerns on the Internet, ask them about how much information they willingly make public online. Often, you’ll find people are surprised that they naturally have such concern about their privacy but enable invasive marketing practices by publicizing personal information.

Leave a Reply

